counter

“As Seen On TV” Special Airs on CNBC Wednesday

Cable business network CNBC is airing a special called “As Seen On TV” which will take viewers behind the scenes of the infomercial industry. The special is hosted by reporter Darren Rovell, the same guy who brought us the Infomercial tournament brackets back in January. Here is a description of the show from CNBC:

It’s a $150 Billion industry, promising people everything from perfect abs to the Perfect Pancake.

Two minutes or less of carefully-crafted commerce aimed solely at making you buy, and buy NOW! A 25-year-old industry whose sales are increasing, despite today’s turbulent economy.

CNBC Emmy-nominated Sports Business Reporter Darren Rovell goes inside the big business of direct-response infomercials that’s made the Snuggie, ShamWow! and the Ginsu Knife household names.

Rovell sits down with the industry heavyweights like inventor Ron Popeil, pitch man Billy Mays and Telebrands CEO AJ Khubani, tests which products are busts or buys, and uncovers the psychology behind why some sales pitches strikeout while others are hit out of the park.

“As Seen On TV” airs Wednesday April 22 at 9pm ET/6pm PT and again at 1am ET/10pm PT. Get more info from the CNBC website.

Comments

  • 1 Response to ““As Seen On TV” Special Airs on CNBC Wednesday”

  • I saw “As Seen On TV” and found it interesting. When Billy Mays isn’t on television pitching products his voice is rather quiet and subdued.

    Comment by Daniel on April 25, 2009 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply